GUNNARSSON MAKES IMMEDIATE IMPACT


The Sky Blue’s have made an inconsistent start to the season and their home form has suffered the most, but one man who has excelled in the midfield since his summer move from Dutch outfit AZ Alkmaar is Aron Gunnarsson.

The 19-year old has been Coleman’s prominent pupil in his short period at the club and has been tipped to become a star player in the future, so it’s not surprising that playing football at a high level has always been a dream of the youngster.

“It has always been a dream for me, since I was 5 years old when I saw English football on the TV and our national team was playing. I thought, ‘I want to be a part of this thing’ and now I’m really proud of where I am.”

GunarssonThe Icelandic international added: “I’m young, but I don’t think about that. I said when I came here ‘I just want to play football’ and now I’m playing every game and doing good.”

The Coventry City fans have failed to get behind the club this campaign, especially at home where cheers and chants have been replaced by boo‘s and jeers, something the young Icelandic feels strongly about.

“I’m annoyed that some fans are booing some players. I just want to say on behalf of everyone, we are not trying to lose or trying to play bad. Sometimes you have your off days and that’s how football is.”

“I understand the fans if they are not happy, they are paying money to see their team play football and we are not playing good enough, but we need to stick together and do this thing as a one group,” he admitted.

“We can’t hide and say that we have a young squad, we are good enough even though we are young, otherwise we wouldn’t be playing here at this club.”

Manager Chris Coleman invested heavily in the summer, recruiting no fewer than six fresh faces and it remains to be seen if chairman Ray Ranson will be in a position to offer funds in the January transfer window, however Gunnarsson feels competition for places will hopefully improve fortunes on the pitch.

“The season has just started and we need to work harder if we are going stay in the top half, but like I said it’s just the beginning, we have got some time to turn it around.

I think it’s good for the team to get new players in, so it will be more competition in every position. We will see what will happens.”

Leave a Reply

