BOOTHROYD NOT DISMISSING KING TRANSFER


Coventry City manager Aidy Boothroyd has not ruled out a move for disgraced footballer Marlon King after the club had been heavily linked with the striker in the national media.

Recent reports in the national press have linked the former Watford star with a move to the Ricoh Arena to reunite with former boss Aidy Boothroyd who is looking to secure his fifth signing whilst at the club this week.

The current Coventry City manager had kind words to say about the 30-year-old whose reputation hit rock bottom after he was convicted of sexual assault and assault occasioning actual body harm when he punched a 20-year-old female December 2008.

Boothroyd told the Coventry Telegraph, “As far as I am concerned, Marlon was fantastic for me. He scored 23 goals and made Watford an awful lot of money and was a cult figure there and, when he was with me, he behaved himself and was good for me and the club and I think I was good for him.

“But times move on and a lot of things have happened. I like to think that I have a relationship with all the players I have worked with and, if they ever needed anything, I would like to think that I would help if I could.

Since his arrival at the Ricoh Arena in May, Boothroyd has taken on board four new recruits including former fans favourite Gary McSheffrey  and the manager knows that despite all the recent speculation, his main priority is to work with the set of players he currently has and improve on last season’s league positioning.

Boothroyd added, “At this moment in time there is nothing I can do help where he is or where he is going, so my priority right now is to make sure we organise this group of players we have got and go on to do more pleasurable things than in the last few years.”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

