SKY BLUES FANS MAKE THEIR POINT


Hundreds of Sky Blues fans turned out to protest against owners Sisu for the way they have run the club over the last four years and I think all those involved deserve a huge pat on the back.

There has been talk of a protest for months between supporters but with the club sitting bottom of the Championship, all talk was turned into action and it proved to be a big success.

I personally wasn’t expecting a big turnout and when I walked past the statue on my way into the Ricoh Arena at around 2.15 things weren’t looking good.

But after I had set up inside I popped back out around 2.40 and there were hundreds of Coventry fans with flags, banners and a megaphone shouting their views and making their voices heard.

Word about the protest had spread far and wide, with both local and national media outlets covering the event, and I was more than happy to give the supporters a few column inches in the Coventry Observer last week.

I’m not in full support of their reasons for protesting but I understand why they want to do it and putting a plan into action was never going to be easy.

But the Save Our City campaign did what looked like a fantastic job.

There was no trouble, it looked very well organised and those who wanted to watch the match simply left the protest and supported Andy Thorn’s side at 3.15 (although I do think they will be annoyed for missing Gary McSheffrey’s goal).

I am glad to hear their next plan of action is to sell out the club’s away allocation for the trip to Reading next month to show their support to Thorn’s side, and I think I may well join them at the Madjeski Stadium.

Leave a Reply

