CALLUM BALL AIMING TO MAKE HIS MARK


5977335018_a_c1560855_1282_464ALTHOUGH a loan move to the Sky Blues came as a surprise for Callum Ball, the Derby County striker is determined to make the most of it.

The 19-year-old joined Andy Thorn’s side on a season-long loan despite breaking into the Derby first team last season when he scored three goals in 23 appearances.

The purpose of the move is for Ball to gain valuable first team experience and he was confident the move could be beneficial for both clubs.

“Coventry is a big club so I’ll be doing all I can to help get them back into the Championship,” said Ball, who was born in Leicester but grew up as a Liverpool fan.

“They were one of the best teams I came up against last year, they played some great football, so to come here and play football for them is a big thing for me.

“I was a little bit surprised to be honest because I had a good season last year, but this move could work in my favour.“

“As soon as there was an interest I said I would go there. They are a good footballing side. I’m a young lad and I want to play football.

“Obviously League One is a bit more physical compared to the Championship so hopefully I can improve as a player and get more games.

“Nigel Clough is going to keep in touch and send people over to see how I’m doing, but he’s happy about the move so I think it’s going to be a good thing for me in the future.”

Ball joins an already youthful looking Sky Blues side, which features no fewer than 15 players who graduated through the club’s own academy.

And the powerful striker, who came across the likes of Cyrus Christie at academy level, felt the age difference had helped him settle.

“There are a few young lads here, as there are at Derby, and I think that really helps you really get into it,” Ball added.

“When you come into a side with older players it’s going to be a bit harder to mix in with them, but when you’ve got people more your age you can get on with them.

“Having said that you need the older lads because they help keep your feet on the ground.

“You get a lot of younger lads who break into a team and think they’ve made it but you need the older guys to bring them back down a peg or two.

“It’s a brilliant set up here. It’s nice having the first team mixing in with the academy so it’s a nice place to come out to for the first time on loan.”

Leave a Reply

