CYRUS CHRISTIE PLEASED TO BE FIGHTING FIT


l102d425_c181241_121114_448DESPITE their precarious position just outside the League One relegation zone, Sky Blues defender Cyrus Christie is just happy to be back in the side after recovering from a serious nee injury quicker than first anticipated.

The 19-year-old suffered knee ligament damage during a 1-1 draw away to Burnley towards the end of last season and was expected to miss the first half of this campaign through rehabilitation.

But the academy graduate recovered sooner than expected and looks to have established himself as Mark Robins’ preferred right back.

“I’ve had a bit of a tough time since I got injured at Burnley,” Christie told the Observer.

“It was probably about seven months in the gym and it was definitely tough but it’s good to be back in the team.

“I came back against Birmingham when I came on as a sub way ahead of schedule, way ahead of where I thought I would have been.

“And then I played against MK Dons where I thought I did well, but Robins preferred Jordan Clarke to begin with.

“There’s competition all over the pitch in positions, but it’s all healthy competition.

“I’ve now come in and hopefully I can be a positive change. I think I have done that and shown the manager what I can do and now I feel I’m getting better with each game.”

Looking back on Saturday’s defeat, Christie admitted the players were annoyed they could not hold on to the lead.

And the youngster believed he should have been awarded a penalty in the second half after being brought down twice inside the area.

“I’ve gone down in the second half which was a blatant foul. He pulled me back and took my legs from beneath me as well.

“There was another incident when I got myself into the box and he took my legs again and I think the ref has got to give the penalty.

“The linesman said it’s not his call to give it, so the officials haven’t helped us out there and those sort of mistakes can prove to be very costly.”

The result left the Sky Blues hovering dangerously above the bottom four and Christie admitted it should have been three points in the bag.

“It’s a poor result really because they haven’t troubled us one bit,” he added.

“We’ve had plenty of opportunities to score and to be fair their keeper has pulled off some good saves at the end but we never really should have lost that game.

“We’ve got to come away with the three points.

“We had built a bit of momentum but now we’ve taken another step back so we’re going to have to go again on Saturday.

“We’ve got some great players here and hopefully we can just start climbing up the league table now and take three points off Hartlepool.”

Leave a Reply

